Grilled Pizza

Grilled Pizza

Last post for my week of grilling.

My favorite thing to grill is pizza.

I do a couple of things the easy way, I use bottled pizza sauce and Pillsbury pizza crust. But after that, I sometimes go all out, cooking up fresh mushrooms and making homemade marinated artichoke hearts and buying other gourmet items like kalamata olives, feta cheese, and proscuitto. Other times I just use canned mushrooms and olives and skip the fancier stuff, adding some pre-sliced Canadian bacon or pepperoni for the meat.

The hardest part is working with the raw pizza dough because it sticks to things. I used to try to make the pizzas all kind of round shaped but that didn’t work very well, I would end up with thick parts of the crust and thin parts and it was too “bready” in the thick parts.

Now I just cut the big rectangle of pizza dough into three even strips and cook it up like that. Much easier. Just put the dough on aluminum foil sprayed with cooking oil, put them on the grill for about 3 minutes, take them off to flip and add the toppings, then put them back on the grill for about 4-5 minutes to finish cooking and melt the cheese.

I learned from my grill book and from Food Network that the most important part about grilling pizza is to pre-cook your toppings. I thought I would mention that. That’s why it only takes 4-5 minutes to finish the pizzas once the toppings have been added.

No matter what I put on those pizzas, they get DEVOURED! That’s another reason I love to make them.

In the winter I just bake them instead of grilling them, most of the time, but sometimes I grill them, even in winter.

And, as promised, I will now reveal my theme for my next series of cooking posts: Chili.

I am going to make a batch of homemade chili and write about the different ways to serve it until it’s gone. At least 3 posts, maybe four, depending on how much chili gets eaten each time. So look for that next week.

Leave a Reply

