The Challenges of Summer Vacation

0609141222

0609141222

The hardest part of summer vacation is feeding my gymnast.

I send her off to a 5hr long workout with just about every little bit of finger food I can come up with. Cubed cheese, club crackers, sliced apple (or other fruit), sliced meat, etc. And then worry that I didn’t give her enough food.

I also have food ready for her as soon as she gets home, usually a sandwich, sometimes macaroni and cheese or canned ravioli or spaghetti rings.

My life saver is the humble peanut butter and jelly sandwich made with my homemade plum jelly. Sometimes I switch it up and give her peanut butter and honey.

Feeding those muscles is a hard job and I am so grateful that I can rely on school lunches to help out most of the year.

I just have to get through the next three months and then she’ll be eating at school, again. I can do it.

Leave a Reply

