Personal Grilling Challenge – Day 1

I don’t know why, but I got it into my head to try to grill everyday this week and then post experience on Free-write Friday, which I had orginally thought about calling Food Friday. That’s four grilled meals posted over the next four weeks (we usually go out one day during the week and I don’t really cook on the weekends). Maybe if I give myself challenges every few weeks, I could go back to calling this Food Friday.

So Monday we went out for Em’s birthday, it was actually FANTASTIC. We went to what used to be our favorite Italian restaurant. The last time we went was over a year ago, they had updated their menu and it was, “meh.” Not worth the drive “clear across town.” A year is a long time and they’ve updated their menu again and now it will be totally worth the 30 minutes to drive through town to get there.

But I digress.

This post is about Tuesday’s dinner. Grilled shrimp skewers.

I found out, by accident, a few years ago that my kid LOVES wild rice. Then, last summer, I discovered the meat counter at my local grocery store puts shrimp on skewers during the summer and sells them for a buck a skewer to entice the local grillers. This summer the skewers are up to a buck and a half, but still… Then I just pick a bottle of one of our favorite marinades so I can marinate the shrimp for a bit before throwing them on the grill.

So for less than $15 I feed my whole family a delicious dinner of 2 shrimp skewers and some wild rice.

Look at those beautiful things. I put aluminum foil on the grill so they wouldn’t fall through.

0610141813

Shrimp on the Barbie (yes, I went there)

Leave a Reply

