Feeding the Bottomless Pit

Look at that tiny little thing… you won’t believe how much she eats.

But if you think about it, maybe you can believe… she works out 4hrs a day, 4 days a week. During the school year this means 4pm to 8pm and that means dinner at 8:30-9:00 at night.

Thankfully, I have help getting her home from practice. This allows me to have dinner just minutes from the table when she arrives hungry from practice.

As spring turns to summer, I am grilling again. One of the nice things about eating at 9pm is that I have plenty of time to use charcoal to grill. When she was younger and did not work out so many nights, I used a gas grill. But now I am back to charcoal and it does make a difference.

Last week I made the first grilled hamburgers of the season and she claimed she was going to devour them. She pretty much did, she left a small portion of the hamburger but I figured that was because I supplied some tater tots so she just got full. Maybe…

Last night I made them again (I needed to use up the buns before they got stale) and she really devoured them. This time I had fresh coleslaw, which she also devoured. I guess that her post-workout muscles crave protein and vitamins that were not being supplied in the tater tots last week.

Leave a Reply

