Making a meet into a vacation

Since my daughter was just 5 months old I have taken my mom and my daughter on fabulous multi-generational week-long vacations once a year.

Then my daughter started competitive gymnastics. The first year wasn’t so bad because all the meets were in the immediate area with one meet two hours away.

The next year we went to Vegas and I laid out a new rule – gymnastics trips would be mini-vacations and so we would stay extra days.

The following year we still just went to Vegas but the new rule was in effect and we all had a great time.

At my daughter’s gym, only the optional levels travel to several meets outside the state. This year my daughter’s finally moved up to an optional level. And we’ve been told by her coach that he does not want to do ANY in-state meets for the optionals this year.

So on that note, I am eagerly anticipating the end of the summer when we will find out WHERE we are going this year for meets.

But how do you make a gymnastics meet into a mini-vacation? Here’s how:

  1. Make sure the hotel has a pool.
  2. Make sure you are staying long enough after your gymnast’s session for them to use the pool (because my daughter’s coach, and I think most coaches, bans swimming pools for 24 hours before the meet).
  3. Find one or two nice places to eat that are easy to get to from the hotel.
  4. Find one “touristy” activity to do before or after the meet (I HIGHLY suggest after).

I am currently surfing the Travel & Leisure Web site for “best” restaurants of various cuisines.

Here’s the link to the list of best seafood restaurants: Travel & Leisure Best Seafood Restaurants

Here are a few in towns I’ve fairly sure I’ll visit in the next year or two:

Here’s the link to the list of best Italian restaurants: Travel & Leisure Best Italian Restaurants

Here are a few in towns I’ve fairly sure I’ll visit in the next year or two:

Some great ideas for gymnastics season AND a new Web site to use for research.

Leave a Reply

