L is for Lasagna

a-to-z-letters-lI have not made my family recipe lasagna for years, literally. But we had an Italian themed potluck at work recently and I used it as motivation to make two pans of lasagna: one for the potluck, one for the family.

The plan was to make meat sauce with Italian sausage (I usually just use stewing beef) on Friday for pasta for the family then put together two pans of lasagna Sunday afternoon so that the family could have lasagna that night and I could bring the second pan to work Monday… didn’t quite work that way.

I did get the meat sauce made on Friday but on Sunday I was tired and hungry and didn’t want to grate up all the ingredients so we had pasta again. After dinner I layered up the pan for the potluck lasagna and I got up early Monday to bake it up. But I don’t think it ever got really warm and gooey. It was okay but that’s all. I got a lot of compliments from my co-workers but they don’t know how it SHOULD taste.

Circumstances worked against me Monday night and I still didn’t get the family lasagna made but it worked out in the end. Tuesday is the only weekday that my kid does NOT have gymnastics. Which meant that she got to layer up all the different ingredients for the family lasagna and, let me tell you, she is NOT skimpy with the mozzarella.

It was so ooey, gooey, cheesy, with a hint of spice from the Italian sausage and just the right amount of garlic, salt, and pepper (according to my mom). It was worth the wait.

Want the recipe? Well, I could give it to you, but then I’d have to kill you… just kidding.

One of these days I will post my family recipe meat sauce but first I have to figure out how… I don’t think that directions like “add more garlic powder if it smells like this but add more pepper if it smells like this” will translate well to the internet. I’ll work on it.

Leave a Reply

