Bummed out right now. Won 2nd place in 2 #toastmasters speech contests but can’t brag @work cuz no1 cares. Boss calls TM a distraction.

Seriously, I am really starting to feel like a rebellious teen when I come to work.

When I started two years ago I was part of a lunch time Toastmasters club and I was working on my master’s degree in Instructional and Performance Technology.

After my boss told me he was worried my outside interests were distracting me at work – specifically mentioning both school and Toastmasters – I quit school and changed to an evening Toastmasters club.

He still thinks I am too distracted by personal stuff when I’m at work but I refuse to give up any more of my life for a job. My job is not my life.

I learned my lesson on that one at Micron – sacrificed family and personal interests for the demands of the job and then got dumped by the company when the going got tough.

I felt like my boyfriend had broken up with me when I got laid-off from Micron. I should not have felt that way – my job should not have felt like the most important relationship in my life.

So I am rebelling – I will not cut back on my personal interests and my personal relationships any more than I already have. In fact, I feel like making a point of taking on more personal stuff but I’m trying to rein in my rebellion and not let it go quite that far… trying….

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

