I don’t think they get it, or maybe I don’t get it… #socialmedia

Just checked my Facebook News Feed on my phone and found out that I should join the interactive living room and tweet live with Jeff Probst during tonight's all-new SURVIVOR…
??
I thought the whole point of social media, like Twitter and Facebook, was that I could send out thoughts and updates at convenient times for me – random times throughout my day, week, life – and then my "followers" and "friends" could read these various bits of wisdom at convenient times throughout their day, week, life…
??
Maybe I don't get social media…
??
Or maybe the various old school business types who are trying to be hip by trying to promote their brands on social media don't get it…
??
And I think it's funny that they are mis-using a new hip technology in order to combat another widely used piece??of??technology – my TiVo (and other various DVRs). I don't watch "Survivor" live so I'm not going to tweet about it live… even if tweeting was about live interaction with fellow tweeters, which I don't believe it is.
??
So not only are the networks showing their fear of me fast-forwarding through their sponsors commercials and of the death of "appointment T.V."… they are showing their lack of understanding about how I communicate with my fellow fans…
Leave a Reply

