Christmas Vacation=Quality Time

This week my daughter has been getting up a half an hour early just so I can be the one to take her to daycare instead of my mom. I very rarely take her to school because she cannot be dropped off at school until 8:00 and I have to be at work at 8:00. Her daycare opens at 7:00 but since it is about a 20 minute drive from the house to her daycare and another 20 minute drive from her daycare to my work, we need to leave the house by about 7:15. She is usually still eating breakfast in her PJs at 7:15.
??
Every night and every morning I ask her if she really wants to get up early to ride to work with me and she always says yes. But she's not a talker on the drive, which is surprising. Reports from my mom are that she is quite the talker in the mornings with her. This morning we quietly drove to work listening to "Holiday Pops" on Sirius radio; some very nice choral music this morning including a beautiful version of "Carol of the Bells" by an all female choir. I heard her blowing on and sipping her hot chocolate but, other than that, no sounds from her.
??
When a guitar version of "Carol of the Bells" started up, I pointed out that it was the same piece that we had heard earlier in the drive. That is the only point in the drive I got more than a one word answer out of her… she asked me, very tentatively, if I thought that Santa would get her a guitar. I replied that Santa usually got her everything she had put on her list and she had put the guitar on her list. She thought about that and said, "Yeah, last year I asked for a doll and Santa got me a doll and a playhouse and a stroller for my doll." I just need to figure out where to get some guitar picks… because she also put guitar picks on her list this year and I think that's the only thing on her list that I haven't gotten, yet.
Leave a Reply

