Must be doing something right…

I work very hard to encourage my child to eat healthy. I have to admit that a lot of my success is based on her natural tendency to eat good foods. I couldn't eat fried foods when I was pregnant because it made my morning sickness worse so I've known since before she was born that she was going to be a healthy eater.
??
But how many seven-year-olds would say either of the two following phrases, let alone say both in less than 24 hours?
??
First, last night I was telling her what school lunch was going to be today: sliders and tater tots. She asked, "What are tater tots?"
??
I am sure she's had them since she's eaten hot lunches??at schools and daycares off and on??since she first started eating solid food but apparently she never really cared enough to learn what they were called??so she could specifically ask for them.
??
Second, this morning she was eating a chocolate old fashioned donut and a glass of milk??for breakfast. She ate about half of the donut and then put her arm over her stomach and said, "This donut has a lot of chocolate in it."
??
I chuckled, "You don't have to finish it if you don't want to. Just have a few more sips of your milk."
??
She said, "Okay," drank some more milk and left half her donut uneaten.
??
It makes me sad, in a way, to think how much we must be inadvertently training our children to ignore their instincts when it comes to food. I don't know how many times I wanted to force her to finish her food when she was younger because she'd only had three bites of the mac and cheese I made specifically for her, but I resisted.
??
And when she told me she didn't like shrimp just days after eating it at another meal I would just patiently say, "If you are not in the mood for shrimp, that's okay, I'll make something else. But don't try to tell me you don't like something that I know you like." Instead of, "You ate it last Sunday, you're going to eat it tonight."
??
I'd like to think that's why I have such a healthy eater now: because I knew that she had forced me to be a healthier eater when I was pregnant, I tried to let her follow her own instincts about eating instead of forcing my (admittedly not the best) eating habits on her.
??
I hope I can continue to support her healthy habits and learn from them. I think I've lost weight since she's started working out three hours a day three times a week just because I'm trying to fix better meals for the whole family to support her workout schedule and meet her calorie needs without feeding her empty calories. I think I really am on the right path with our dinners, now. Just hope I can keep it up.
Leave a Reply

