Fall Chores

Last night I cooked down 10 lbs of plums to get them ready to make jelly. And you read that right: 10 lbs.. 10 POUNDS… and I've just barely made a dent in the amount of plums we have from our trees.
??
I have been dreading this chore for the last two weeks, even had to throw out some plums because we harvested them but then I didn't start processing them before they got soft and bruised. But now I've got the bug.??Last night the smell of those plums cooking down on the stove reminded me why I got so obsessed with jelly making last year.
??
I made three batches of jelly last year, each batch consisted of eight??half-pint??jars. What I cooked down last night is enough for two batches. I think I could get six to eight batches this year, if my obsession holds out until I run out of plums. We'll see.
Leave a Reply

