Holiday Party

I went to my company’s holiday party last night. It was very nice. I’ve never worked somewhere that had company parties that required cocktail attire. It was fun getting dressed up and then seeing everyone else all dressed up. There was an open bar and I decided to have a cosmopolitian since I haven’t had a fancy mixed drink in a while. I usually only have mixed drinks on vacation and with the economy like it is I haven’t taken the family on a vacation since November 2008. There was also a really nice hor d’oeuvres bar with fruit and cheese, smoked salmon, seared tuna served with wasabi, and these delicious chicken bites wrapped in bacon and coated with something sweet (honey, maybe).

I sat with at a table for six with two people from my department and their significant others to sip my drink and sample some of the hor d’oeuvres. One person is new to our group and it was fun to get to know him better, he has a surprisingly wry sense of humor that doesn’t get a chance to show itself at work. While the hor d’oeuvres were being served the five of us got up and mingled a bit but there was always someone from the group at the table. When dinner as served, we all got up to go through the buffet and when we got back the CEO of the company has “stolen” our table… but how can you go up to the CEO of the company and say, “Hey, you stole our table.” We moved up to the bar and ate our dinner.

The dinner was good, not quite as amazing as the hor d’oeuvres bar, in my opinion, but still very good. Salad, mashed red potatoes with the skins left in, delicious baby carrots in some sort of sweet glaze, and two main entrees. I had what I think was pork tenderloin with a pineapple salsa/compote. Someone said the other choice was chicken but then I heard someone else say it was salmon, which makes more sense to me because it was covered with some sort of green sauce. I didn’t try it because I couldn’t think of anything that I liked that would make a green sauce for chicken. Now I wish I’d been brave enough because it was probably a wasabi sauce on salmon and I probably would have liked that. But it’s not like I didn’t get enough food… I was pleasantly full at the end of the night and it all good gourmet food that I do not normally take the time to make for my family at home (sometimes I do, but only once every 2-3 months or so). I’m glad I went.

 


Msg sent via CableONE.net MyMail – http://www.cableone.net

Leave a Reply

